top of page

What are the 4 Governing Bodies of Boxing?

In the world of professional boxing, there are four major governing bodies that oversee the sport's championships, rankings, and rules. These organizations play a significant role in shaping the landscape of professional boxing and have a considerable impact on the careers of boxers worldwide. Understanding the roles and functions of these governing bodies is crucial for both fans and participants in the sport. Let's take a closer look at the four major governing bodies in professional boxing:

  1. World Boxing Association (WBA)

  2. World Boxing Council (WBC)

  3. International Boxing Federation (IBF)

  4. World Boxing Organization (WBO):

Each of these four governing bodies has its own set of rules, rankings, and championship titles. While they all share a common goal of promoting and regulating professional boxing, they often have different approaches and priorities. The existence of multiple governing bodies in boxing has led to some criticism and confusion, particularly regarding the proliferation of championship titles and rankings. However, these organizations also play a vital role in the growth and development of professional boxing, providing opportunities for boxers from around the world to compete at the highest level.


bottom of page